ChannelDB2

Oracle and DB2 - An Architectural Comparison

Event Details

Oracle and DB2 - An Architectural Comparison

Time: March 31, 2011 from 12:30pm to 2pm
Location: ibm.com/db2/labchats
Event Type: webinar, 'db2, chat, with, the, lab', webcast
Organized By: Rav Ahuja
Latest Activity: Apr 19, 2011

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Watch the recording of this DB2 Chat held on 31 Mar 2011:

http://www.channeldb2.com/video/db2-and-oracle-an

 

Download (Right click, Save ...)

Presentation Slides FTP | HTTP (PDF, 1.8MB)
Audio Recording FTP | HTTP (MP3, 17MB, 90min)

 

Date:     Thursday, March 31, 2011
Time:     12:30-2:00 PM Eastern / 11:30 AM Central / 9:30 AM Pacific / 17:30hrs London / 18:30hrs Frankfurt, Paris / India 10 PM

 

Many database professionals and DBAs often ask how DB2 and Oracle compare architecturally, that is, how they are different and similar at their core.  They also ask what are the equivalent concepts, names, commands etc. in the other database system. This free webinar will answer those questions by covering the following topics in detail:

 - Server architecture comparison (e.g. instances and database model, process vs. thread)
 - Memory architecture comparison (e.g. Oracle SGA & PGA vs. DB2 instance, database and application memory)
 - Parameters, environment variables and registry variables
 - Database storage model comparison (e.g. table space types and layouts, compression approaches)
 - Basic database administration comparison (e.g. terminology, create database, start/stop, dictionary vs. system catalog, performance)
 - Compatibility mode for running Oracle applications with DB2

Attending this webcast would be valuable for you whether you are an Oracle professional and looking to learn more about DB2 (for Linux, Unix and Windows), or work in a heterogeneous environment and looking to expand your DBMS knowledge, or simply interested in enhancing your database skills for improving your career prospects.

Join Sal Vella and Burt Vialpando on Thursday Mar 31, 2011, at 12:30 PM Eastern to learn more.

Comment Wall

Try BLU Acceleration on Cloud

© 2014   Created by channeldb2.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service